Skip to Main Content

Live Webcast Thursday, November 12, 2020 at 11am EST | 8am PST | 4pm GMT | 5pm CET

Formulation strategies for orally administered small molecules can vary widely for early-phase clinical studies and are not always optimal for the program. Sponsors should consider a wide range of formulation options as they develop program strategies, weighing level of effort versus clinical needs for the short and long term.

This webcast will discuss formulation strategies and their appropriateness depending on drug properties, dosing requirements, and corporate strategy.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Understand various formulation approaches and the situations for which each is best utilized.
  • Balance formulation level of effort vs. clinical needs (or wants).
  • Identify common issues, traps, and unforced errors in formulation development.

Who Should Attend:

  • Executives in charge of development of new small molecules
  • Formulation and analytical scientists
  • Professionals overseeing the design of clinical studies

Speakers:

Rob Tuohy
Vice President, Pharmaceutical Development
Pace Analytical Life Sciences

Rob Tuohy oversees all research and development activities at Pace Philadelphia (Emerson Resources) including formulation development, analytical services, and clinical supplies manufacture. He offers extensive knowledge relative to the design and development of various dosage forms. Rob has participated in the development of more than 100 pharmaceutical compounds spanning a variety of oral and topical dosage forms. Particular areas of expertise include coating applications, controlled release, bioavailability enhancement, semi-solid formulations, and fixed-dose combination products. Rob holds a Master’s degree in pharmaceutical sciences from Temple University and a bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University.

Additional Articles

Live Webcast: Understanding Polymorphism to De-Risk Drug Development

October 2, 2020

ON DEMAND WEBINAR: Pharmaceutical Development of Oligonucleotides

September 30, 2020